Upamanyu Dutta

In a spectacular display of excellent sailing, 14 year old Upamanyu Dutta, a student of Bombay International School, has given India its first Gold in Optimist class at the Qatar International Regatta 2011. His closest rival, Hamood Salem Saeed Al Zaidi of UAE could not keep up with the Indian who used all his experience and had to settle with the runners up position. Juni Bjorneset of Norway was placed third overall after she lost to Hamood Salem Saeed Al Zaidi on a tie break.
Chintan Chhatbar of Mumbai Yacht club took the bullet in the last race and was placed fifth overall with 61 points. Vishnu Sujeesh of AYN, who was ranked 5th overall after 8 races, slipped to 9th place on the last day. Click here to view Optimist result sheet.

In optimist team racing, India clinched a Silver and Bronze medal. The gold went to the top team from Norway. Click here for team racing results

Hobie 16
Kalaga Yaquob and Taramati Matiwade took the title in Hobie 16 in a very closely fought series which went down to the last race. Yaquob had won Silver in this event last year. The team of Akram Al Wahibi and Hashim Al Rashidi of Oman was placed second overall after they lost to the Indians in the final race. Click here to view Hobie 16 final result sheet

Laser Standard
Laser standard, the only Olympic class in the event, featured a very competitive fleet. India’s Gaurav Randhawa sailed extremely well to finish 5th overall. He missed the bronze medal by just 2 points after he was disqualified in a protest lodged against him by Ebrahim Abdulla of Bahrain. “I am very disappointed with the protest committee’s decision” said Gaurav who claimed that there was no contact between the two boats. Click here to view Laser Std final result sheet

In the 29er class, Norway completely dominated the event sweeping off the top 5 places with ease. Indian sailors Aman Vyas and Sachin Singha finished sixth overall while Varun Thakkar and Aishwarya Chezhiyan finished seventh. Click here to view 29er final result sheet

Laser 4.7
Shweta Sadanandan and Praveen Prabhakar of TNSA finished 10th and 11th respectively in a strong fleet of 28 boats. Praveen Prabhakar sailed extremely well on the first day of the series finishing first and second in the opening races. Click here for Laser 4.7 final results

Words: Poornima Dadarkar

4 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *