Mumbai: Nadar Murugan added another feather to his cap by winning the Seabird National Championship 2011 at Mumbai. Missing the first race or the series and starting one race more the 4 minutes late did not stop him from winning the title against much faster boats like Sea Eagle and Ibis. His team included Arjuna awardee sailor GL Yadav and Rakesh Waradkar. Following this victory, Rakesh announced his retirement from the seabird class.

Close behind him finished his elder brother Muthulingam Nadar along with crew Ravi Aswani and Pankaj Panchal. They finished the series with one bullet, four second places and one third place.

Murugan Nadar had also won the Tolani midseason trophy last month. Winning the two most prestigious trophies (Godrej Trophy and Tolani Trophy) in the seabird class have made him the most decorated seabird sailor in the country this season.

On Handicap, the team of Prasad Shelar, Suraj Singh and Ashwamedh finished first while DK Acharya, B Majhi and Aman Acharya finished second. Acharya sailed extremely well on the last day of the series and won the last race online.

Seabird Sailing in Mumbai from Gateway of India

Sailing in Mumbai from Gateway of India

3 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *