Mumbai: Marine Solutions sailing team skippered by Gulshan Chunekar along with crew Varun Raj and Hema Mehta sailed extremely well to win the Lightning National Championship 2011. They displayed excellent form throughout the event and remained a class apart by bagging four bullets in the seven race series.

For Hema Mehta, this was her second national title in a row in lightning class. Last year she had won the title along with Nadar Murugan and Ninad Mayekar.

The team of Prasad Shelar, Rakesh Varadkar and Bhaktiyar Vazifdar finished second overall with three bullets and three second places.

Gulshan could not complete the first race of the series due to a collision between him and Prasad that left him with a broken rudder. But he came back strong to finish second in race No.2 and then took four bullets back to back to ensure a top place finish. He filed a request for redress in Race No.1 and was awarded an average score of 5 races. The average score eventually helped him win the title by 0.8 points.

β€œRight from the start of the series our goal was to win clearly on the water and we are happy to have won the title against all odds”, said Varun Raj of Marine Solutions.

On Handicap, the team of Murugan Nadar, B Mhaji and Khushboo Chauhan finished first while the team of Muthulingam Nadar, Ravi Aswani and Pankaj Panchal finished second.

For Murugan Nadar this was his second national title in the last nine days. He had won the Seabird Nationals online last weekend with G L Yadav and Rakesh Varadkar as crew. Muthulingam, Ravi and Pankaj had finished second online in the Seabird Nationals.

5 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *