Gajender Singh (AYN) - Last years champion

Hyderabad: Jasvir Singh of the Army Yachting Node was crowned champion in the Laser Standard class in the 26th National Laser sailing championship at the Hussain Sagar Lake on Sunday. Jasvir also won the Kelly Rao trophy for emerging as the top-ranked sailor without discards.

At the end of the eleven race series, Jasvir had 16 penalty points thereby pushing defending champion Gajender Singh (AYN) who had 22 penalty points, to second position. Naveen Kumar (AYN) finished third with 24 penalty points.

On the last day of the series, Jasvir gave a good show in both races. He took second place in the tenth race and won the eleventh which helped him to lift the overall title.

Sarad Chandra Singha of EMESA finished first in the youth category while V Hari Hara (AYN) finished first in the Apprentice Masters category.

Click here to view photo gallery of the event

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *