Nitin Mongia - Jeanneau Sailor of the month

World Champion sailor Nitin Mongia won the Monsoon Regatta 2011 in style by beating Ayaz Shaikh 3 -1 in the finals at Hussain Sagar lake, Hyderabad. He ended Ayaz’s 12-match winning streak in the finals by beating him in three matches back to back.

In the round robin, Nitin faced stiff competition from the two top skippers, the current National Champion R Mahesh and the upcoming star Ayaz Shaikh. But he came back very strong against them in the semi finals and finals to win the title. His team included Asian Games medalist Balraj Yadav, Hema Mehta and Alekhya Sudam.

In spite of knowing that at Monsoon Regatta he would be facing the fiercest teams in the country, and in a sport that is highly male dominated, he gave an opportunity to two girls, Alekhya and Hema to join his team. With this title Alekhya and Hema have become the only girls in the country to win an Open Match Racing title.

After the win Nitin stated that his decision to include the girls on the team was the best he has ever made.

Nitin’s key achievements, awards and records

World Championship – OK Dinghy – 2003 – Gold
World Championship – OK Dinghy – 2004 – Bronze
Asian Games – OK Dinghy – 2002 – Silver
Asian Championship – OK Dinghy – 1993 – Bronze
Asian Championship – OK Dinghy – 1995 – Silver
Asian Championship – OK Dinghy – 2001 – Gold
Asian Championship – OK Dinghy – 2004 – Gold
Asian Championship – OK Dinghy – 2006 – Gold
British Open – OK Dinghy – 2004 – Silver
Match Racing – Iyru 1991 – Bronze
Match Racing – Dubai 2006 – Silver


1. Arjuna Award – 2003
2. Chattrapati Shivaji Award for Yachting – 2003
3. Awarded Yachtsman of the year for 2002 and 2003


1. First Indian in the history of Yachting to have won a Gold Medal and a Bronze medal in consecutive years at a World Championship
2. First Indian to win a Silver Medal at the British Open 2004
3.The only Indian to have won the World Championship in 2003 in a singlehander class of boat

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *