Chennai, India: The 2011 India International Regatta came to an end today with another three races sailed, which gave a chance to the sailors to discard one more race. The wind did not come early today, so the athletes had to wait around an hour before they could go to the racing area. At 12.00 pm the wind came from the east and that was enough to start the first race.

Anze Podlogar from Slovenia had the early lead at the first race with Peter Lin Janezic and Toni Vrscaj also from Slovenia following him. Podlogar could not keep his position for long and Janezic took the lead at the second upwind. Vrscaj also moved into second place, with Thomas Maher from Indonesia being third. Maher continued his good performance finishing second at the next race and, after discarding a second race, he was able to climb to the third place in the overall ranking. As expected, Peter Lin Janezic won the India International Regatta in Optimist with 19 points while Toni Vrscaj only 3 points behind. Janezic had finished second overall at last years event.

“I am very happy to win the title in my second visit. I want to do well in the Worlds to be held in Napier on December 30 this year,” said Peter.

Of the three sailors from Slovenia, Peter and Toni Vrscaj have been outstanding in the Optimist section. The two have shown excellent boat skills and without doubt they have been the best of the lot.

In the Optimist girls division, Natasya Nabila from Malaysia had an easy task leaving Janaki Balachander from India 2nd and Ruqayya Nasrulla also from India in third.

The big surprise came in the 29er fleet with the female duo of Varsha and Aishwarya scoring two bullets and a third place, secured the first place overall. Ganapathy and Varun tried to keep up with them with 3 races at the top 3, but this was not enough. They finished in second place overall and only one point behind the girls. Hussain and Praveen were the third team overall with 7 point behind the runner-up.

The girls sailed the entire series really well securing a podium finish in every single race.

“This is a good boost for us. This win will help us train harder for the Asian championship in Malaysia in February next year,” said Aishwarya.

Top 3 Results::


1st – Varsha Gautham / Aishwarya Chezhiyan
2nd – Ganapathy Kelapanda / Varun Thakkar
3rd – Hussain Bhavnagarwala / Praveen Prabhakar


1st – Perer Lin Janezic (SLO)
2nd – Toni Vrscaj (SLO)
3rd – Thomas Maher (INA)


More in tech


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *