Ayaz Shaikh (left) and SR Rout - 470 National Champions 2012

Mumbai: Ayaz Shaikh with crew SR Rout captured his second National title of the 2012 season by winning the 470 National Championship 2012 on Thursday.

Ayaz further cemented his status as the ‘in-form’ sailor as he captured the title by winning 7 races of the 8 race series. The world number 79 in Match Racing, appeared visibly more determined and gave his most accomplished performance in the 470 class so far.

After winning the title, a satisfied Ayaz proclaimed, “I sailed really well today, I’m very happy. I have a big will to win each race I sail, so it will not stop here, definitely. I want to keep on going and keep doing better sailing.”

A total of 10 teams from all over India took part in the event. Kiran Kumar and Narendra Rajput (AYN) finished second while Manoj Kumar and Kapil Kumar finished third overall.

While 2011 was undoubtedly Ayaz Shaikh’s year, 2012 already looks set to belong to him. He kicked off the year by picking up a bronze in the YAI Selection Trials, and then he captured two major national titles in the same month; his first ever in both Match Racing and 470 class.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *